top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJill Kessenich

The One with the Jump Over the Pond

My flight to Dublin left at 8:30 in the evening. Perfect for getting some rest! Kevin, Bree, Aidan, Ryan and Evy dropped me off at the doors and I was officially on my own. There was about 20-30 other student on the plan that were on their way to the same university as me. My seat was next to a girl named Katie who studies ag at the University of Illinois. She was very nice and even stuck around to help me find my missing bag at the airport. We found out that we even have a class together!


Like I mentioned, my check in bag was missing. Just when I was about to start getting nervous, an airport employee came around the corner with it! It turns out that a girl (who is now a good friend) thought it was hers and exited the airport with it. Mackenzie had to go through a full security check just to return my bag! Luckily she noticed my Kate Spade luggage tag (a gift provided by Carly Lundquist) before she got too far!


UCD provided a bus for us to get to campus. Before leaving, I had to scramble to find off campus housing do to an error on my account and found an apartment just 3 or 4 weeks before my arrival. My roommate, Aisling, met me on campus and helped me with my bags. She is a very sweet gal! She has been a huge help to me and my fellow exchange friends.


I live with three Irish girls. Aisling studies chemistry, Ruth studies ag and Rachel studies law.Living with them has been a nice way to really get to know the city, school and night life here!


44 views0 comments
bottom of page